top of page

Responding to Art with the Written Word


I have made significant progress on a poetry project, writing poems for The Words and Pictures project at QAGOMA.

Which is just as well as there are just four days left for my final selections and edits.

Some of the works have inspired more than one poem/micro story. One even inspired four pieces.

I now have to select the ones I feel will be the most interesting or evocative for the people visiting the gallery. I might share some of the others that don’t go in, here on my blog.

It is not easy as I am quite happy with each version, but then I have a vision of how all the works fit together and want the poems to be spaced throughout the gallery.

Also my goal is to give the poems and micro stories a broad appeal, such that people of many ages might enjoy reading them, including people familiar with my work on Magic Fish Dreaming.

So now my role is to curate the right balance of my own work, to show that I love writing for children, families, youth and adults.

I look forward to seeing how the public respond to the writing once it is up on the Gallery walls.

I have a few butterflies of course, but it is quite exciting to share poems alongside art works, and have them interact with each other.

If you visit the work, feel free to leave a comment on my blog, or QAGOMA instagram as I would love to know what you think.

I’ll let you know the dates it is up soon.

An extract of a picture that I found inspiring is pictured below... Ray Crookes, Woman with Blossoms. Queensland Art Gallery

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page